

L&HC 10 Mile Time Trial Wednesday 16 August 14:00 Course: H10/3r

The event is being run for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

Timekeepers: Bob Lyle (Newbury RC) and William Emons (Wessex VTTA) Start and Finish Official – John Hoskins (L&HC VTTA) Event Secretary: Claire Emons: 07733 272826

AWARDS

			AAT	Actual Time	VTTA Group
VTTA Men on AAT					
VTTA Gold Medal	Neil Mackley	A3crg	19:04	20:49	Wessex
VTTA Silver Medal	Jeff Roberts	High Wycombe CC	19:47	21:18	L&HC
VTTA Bronze Medal	Alan Murchison	HUUB Wattshop	20:11	21:06	L&HC
VTTA Women on AAT					
VTTA Gold Medal	Lucia Borradaile	CC Weymouth	20:08	25:17	Wessex
VTTA Silver Medal	Arja Scarsbrook	Team Echelon	21:54	29:07	West
VTTA Bronze Medal	Emma Davies	Port Talbot Whs CC	22:09	25:51	South Wales
Fastest Man Overall on Actual Time					
Gold Medal	Neil Mackley	A3crg		20:49	Wessex
Fastest Woman Overall on Actual Time					
Gold Medal	Lucia Borradaile	CC Weymouth		25:17	Wessex
Fastest Road Bike Overall on Actual Time					
Gold Medal	Richard Byrne	Newbury Road Club		26:17	L&HC
Team of Three on AAT					
VTTA Gold Medal	Neil Mackley, Mike Boyce, Matt Doe	A3CRG	1:06:27	1:11:40	Wessex

Winners of the Individual Gold Medal on Age Adjusted Time will receive and invitation to the L&HC Annual Prizegiving Lunch

RACE REPORT

Wednesday 17th August saw the second London and Home Counties midweek event on the A4 between Newbury and Hungerford on the popular H10/3r course. We had good numbers again this year with 60 solo riders including 10 women, 6 on road bikes, 1 trike and a tandem

After weeks of wet and windy conditions across the country we finally had a break in the weather and were graced with sunshine, warm temperatures and light winds.

As this is a VTTA event the main focus is on Age Adjusted Time (standard) rather than actual time, however we also award gold medals to the fastest overall scratch times for men, women and road bike categories.

In the women's field on Age Adjusted Time, Lucia Borradaile (CC Weymouth) took the gold medal in a time of 20:08, with silver going to Arja Scarsbrook (Team Echelon) in 21:54 and bronze to Emma Davies (Port Talbot Whs) in 22:09

In the womens scratch event the overall winner was Lucia Borradaile (CC Weymouth) in 25:17, with Emma Davies (Port Talbot Whs) second in 25:51 with Hannah Quay (Reading CC) third in 25:58.

In the men's field, on Age Adjusted Time the gold medal went to Neil MacKley (...A3crg) with a AAT of 19:04, with Silver going to Jeff Roberts High Wycombe CC) in 19:47 and bronze was awarded to Alan Murchison (HUUB Wattshop) with 20:11

Neil Mackley (...A3crg) was fastest man overall with a time of 20:49 closely followed by Daniel Chambers (Bicester Millennium CC) in 20;53 with Alan Murchison (HUUB Wattshop) third in 21:06

The gold medal for best team of three on age adjusted time went to ...A3crg – Neil Mackley, Mike Boyce and Matt Doe with a combined time of 1:06:27.

The tandem pairing of Rachael Elliott and Ian Greenstreet (Newbury Velo) crossed the line in a time of 19:39 giving them a new tandem course record.

We were fortunate on the day to have Drew Tucker out on the course taking photos they can be found here <u>https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/11UaV6fYEXwGfbLqS4h-LPZhGcb1iB9G6?usp=sharing</u> these are free to download but please could you credit Drew with the photo

These events are not possible without the help of volunteers so many thanks to Bob Lyle (finish timekeeping), William Emons (start timekeeping and course signs), John Hoskins (start and finish assistant), Phyll and Jeff Garner manning the kitchen, with Joy and John Payne marshalling the turn and Rachael Elliott and Sarah Matthews for helping me with the array of sweet and savoury treats. Thanks also to Newbury Road Club and Newbury Velo for providing the numbers and signage.

Well done to all the winners and we wish every rider a successful rest-of-season.

We hope you'll come back and ride again next year!

Claire Emons

RESULTS

TT BIKES

No.	Name	Club	Time	AAT	VTTA Group
1	Neil Mackley	a3crg	20:49	19:04	Wessex
2	Daniel Chambers	Bicester Millennium CC	20:53		
3	Alan Murchison	HUUB WattShop	21:06	20:11	L&HC
4	Jeff Roberts	High Wycombe CC	21:18	19:47	L&HC
5	James Lawler	VTTA (East Anglia Group)	21:59	21:19	East Anglia
6	Stephen Boxall	Houghton CC	22:05	21:57	
7	Howard Waller	Python RT	22:33	20:55	L&HC
8	John Lacey	Hemel Hempstead CC	22:38	21:00	L&HC
9	William Sawyer	Velo Club St Raphael	22:47	21:09	Wessex
10	John Aspell	Port Talbot Whs CC	22:53	21:41	South Wales
11	Peter Oliver	ZeroBC Race Team	23:00	21:29	L&HC
12	Angus MacInnes	Charlotteville Cycling Club	23:08	21:37	Surrey/Sussex
13	Michael Garvey	High Wycombe CC	23:08	21:44	L&HC
14	Andy Self	North Hampshire RC	23:20	21:35	
15	Simon Bowller	Berkhamsted Cycling Club	23:34	21:49	L&HC
16	Stu Carver	North Hampshire RC	23:35	22:04	Wessex
17	Carl Bond	Kenton RC	23:37	22:42	
18	Paul Winchcombe	Chippenham & District Wheelers	23:39	21:32	West
19	Christopher Davis	Giant CC Halo Films	23:46	20:54	West
20	Chris Ward	WardPerformanceUK.com	24:20	21:28	
21	Stuart Thompson	Velo Club St Raphael	24:21	23:46	Wessex
22	Mark Welch	Oxted Cycle Club	24:24	22:39	Surrey/Sussex
23	Jymmy Trevor	City RC (Hull)	24:30	23:40	Yorkshire
24	Peter Iffland	Chippenham & District Wheelers	24:36	22:58	West
25	Matt Doe	a3crg	25:03	24:18	Wessex
26	Steve Skinner	Southdown Velo	25:14	22:22	Wessex
27	Lucia Borradaile	CC Weymouth	25:17	20:08	Wessex
28	Alan Allcock	Didcot Phoenix CC	25:20	22:28	L&HC
29	Mike Boyce	a3crg	25:48	23:05	Wessex
30	Emma Davies	Port Talbot Whs CC	25:51	22:09	South Wales
31	Andy Grant	Chelmer CC	25:52	23:36	East Anglia
32	Hannah Quay	Reading CC	25:58	22:52	Edotrangha
34	Lewis Lawton	Swindon Road Club	27:57	24:33	Wessex
35	David England	Crabwood Cycling Club	28:17	22:44	Wessex
36	Susan Oldham	Bicester Millennium CC	28:22	24:05	West
37	David Hanson	Oxonian CC	28:24	24:48	L&HC
40	Rachel Green	Cheltenham & County CC	29:05	24:32	West
41	Arja Scarsbrook	Team Echelon	29:07	21:54	West
42	Les Gardner	Maidenhead & District CC	29:32	25:03	L&HC
43	Chris Summers	Sotonia CC	29:49	26:25	Wessex
44	Robert Jolliffe	New Forest CC	30:13	26:49	Wessex
45	Brian Lewis	Bicester Millennium CC	31:33	24:16	West
46	Jan Farmer	Serpentine Running Club	33:40	27:10	L&HC
	Liam Maybank	Twickenham CC	DNF	1	
	Andy Tucker	Newbury Velo	DNF	1	
	Christopher Rosam	Epsom CC	DNS (A)		
	Cliff Voller	VTTA West Group	DNS (A)		
	Haydn Davies	Giant CC Halo Films	DNS (A)		
	Sarah Matthews		DNS (A)		
	Daryl Stroud	Gloucester City Cycling Club	DNS (A)		
		Cioucosici City Cycillity Club			

Bob Brabbins	VTTA West Group	DNS	
Gillian Reynolds	Willesden CC	DNS	
Peter Crease	Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA	DNS	
Luca Morrone	Onyx RT	DNS	

ROAD BIKES

No.	Name	Club	Time	AAT	VTTA Group
1	Richard Byrne	Newbury RC	26:17	24:39	L&HC
2	Vernon Schutte	Farnborough & Camberley CC	28:39	25:37	Wessex
3	Will Du Sautoy	Woking Cycling Club	28:58		
4	Rosslyn Young	Serpentine Running Club	34:40	26:18	L&HC
	David Marshall	Hemel Hempstead CC	DNS (A)		
	Andrew Wright	Amersham Road Cycling Club	DNS		

TANDEM

No.	Name	Club	Time	VTTA Group
1	Ian Greenstreet & Rachael Elliott	Newbury Velo	19:39	L&HC